White River drains all or part of 40 Indiana counties.

About White River

Two forks, two paths

White River watershed in Indiana

White River flows in two forks across most of Central and Southern Indiana, creating the largest watershed contained entirely within the state, draining all or part of nearly half the counties. View a larger river and county map in a popup window.

Source of the West Fork

The West Fork of White River begins in a farmer’s field in Randolph County, south of Winchester. For its first few miles, it travels north, then turns west through Muncie and Anderson before flowing south through Noblesville to Indianapolis.

Source of the East Fork

The Blue and Flatrock Rivers rise within a few miles of each other in Henry County in eastern Indiana. As it flows south, the Blue joins with Sugar Creek to become the Driftwood River, which meets the Flatrock in the city of Columbus. At this point, both waters have traveled about 100 miles. Their confluence (shown in the photo) forms the East Fork of White River.

Both forks of White River travel roughly south and west to meet in Daviess County, just above Petersburg. By then, the West Fork has traveled 273 miles; the East Fork, 162 (plus the 100 miles of the source rivers). At their confluence, the two forks are nearly equal in size.

Confluence of White and Wabash Rivers

The White then journeys 45 miles to its confluence with the Wabash River. As seen in a photo taken from the Illinois bank, the White approaches from the middle distance while the Wabash flows from our left to our right in the foreground. Both rivers are about equal in size as they join.